Skip to main content

BSO Sessions Episode 14: Love Letters

BSO Sessions Episode 14: Love Letters

BSO Sessions Episode 14: Love Letters

Premiere: Wednesday, February 10, 2021 at 8 pm

$10 Pay-Per-View OR Included in $20 Monthly All Access Plan.

BSO Sessions episodes begin with a performance premiere at 8 pm, followed by on-demand access through June 2021.

Composers have written passionate love letters through their works for centuries. Learn about the love stories behind the music including Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll, a birthday present to his second wife; the fourth movement of Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, a love poem to his wife; Elgar’s Sospiri, a passionate piece dedicated to his long-time friend, violinist W.H. Reed; and Sibelius’s Rakastava (The Lover), inspired by a Finnish poem about a muse. Members of the BSO share their personal love stories bound together by the Orchestra.

Nicholas Hersh, conductor

Jonathan Rush, conductor

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll
MAHLER: Symphony No. 5, IV. Adagietto
ELGAR Sospiri
SIBELIUS Rakastava (The Lover)

Event Contact

Theresa Kopasek

Event Details


Add Event To Your Calendar