Skip to main content

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Sheri Parks, President (Vice President of Strategic Initiatives, Maryland Institute College of Art)
Bryn Parchman, Vice President (President and CEO, Port Discovery Children’s Museum)
Fred Bronstein, Treasurer (Dean, Peabody Institute)
Kevin Apperson (CIO, Maxim Health Care)
Jeffrey Buchheit (Executive Director, Baltimore National Heritage Area)

Board of Directors

Chris Bedford (Dorothy Wagner Wallis Director, Baltimore Museum of Art)
Randi Benesch (Director of Advancement, Baltimore Center Stage)
Scott Casper (Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences and Professor of History at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Amy Cavanaugh Royce (Executive Director, Maryland Art Place)
Heidi Daniel (Chief Executive Officer, Enoch Pratt Free Library)
Wanda Draper (Executive Director, The Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture)
Carla Du Pree (Executive Director, CityLit Project)
Patricia Egan (Principal, Cool Spring Analytics)
Chris Ford (Director, Baltimore School for the Arts)
John Hendricks (Dean of Arts, St. Paul's Schools)
Samuel Hoi (President, Maryland Institute College of Art)
Garey Hyatt (Assistant Professor, Coppin State University)
Lee Kappelman (Principal, m/Oppenheim Associates)
Monica Lopez-Gonzalez (Co-Founder & Executive Scientific & Artistic Director, La Petite Noiseuse Productions)
Julia Marciari-Alexander (Andrea B. and John H. Laporte Director, The Walters Art Museum)
Todd Marcus (Musician/Composer and Executive Director, Intersection of Change)
Wendel Patrick (Out of the Blocks Co-Producer, WYPR)
Phoebe Stein (Executive Director, Maryland Humanities)
Stacie Tobin (Partner, Venable LLC)
Jonathan Waller (Director of Marketing & Communications, Baltimore Center Stage)

New Board of Directors Bios

Scott Casper, Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences and Professor of History at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
Dr. Scott Casper is Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences and Professor of History at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). A historian of the nineteenth-century United States, he is the author of Sarah Johnson’s Mount Vernon: The Forgotten History of an American Shrine (2008) and Constructing American Lives: Biography and Culture in Nineteenth-Century America (1999), and the co-author, editor, or co-editor of seven other books, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History (2013). He has held research fellowships at the National Humanities Center, the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities, the American Antiquarian Society, and Winterthur Museum, Garden, and Library, among other institutions. Before joining UMBC in 2013, Dr. Casper was a professor of history at the University of Nevada, Reno. He edited the annual “Textbooks and Teaching” section of the Journal of American History from 2008 to 2018 and was acting editor of The William and Mary Quarterly in 2008-09. He has worked extensively with K-12 history and social studies educators through George Washington’s Mount Vernon, the Center for Civic Education, and the Northern Nevada Teaching American History Project, and has consulted on museum installations for George Washington’s Mount Vernon and for The Walters Art Museum. Dr. Casper earned his A.B. from Princeton University and his M.A., M.Phil., and Ph.D. in American Studies from Yale University.

Wendel Patrick, Out of the Blocks Co-Producer, WYPR
Wendel Patrick majored in both music and political science at Emory University and earned his M.M. in Piano Performance as a scholarship student at the Northwestern University School of Music in Evanston Illinois. Mr. Patrick is a winner of the 2015 Baker Artist Awards’ Mary Sawyers Baker grand prize, and was a full time faculty member at Loyola University in Baltimore, Maryland from 2001 to 2013 teaching piano, introduction to music theory, music history and electronic music production. He has taught at the Maryland Institute College of Art and currently teaches “Hip Hop Music Production: History and Practice” at The Peabody Music Conservatory, the first course of its kind to be taught at a major traditional music conservatory anywhere in the United States. Wendel Patrick's music has also been heard across the country on NPR stations, most notably on Out of the Blocks, an award winning radio documentary program he co-produces with radio producer Aaron Henkin for NPR affiliate WYPR that has been featured by the Third Coast International Audio Festival and Hearing Voices as well as on the BBC.

Stacie Tobin, Partner, Venable LLP
Stacie Tobin is a partner in Venable’s Commercial Litigation Group and a member of Venable’s E-Discovery group. Stacie brings extensive litigation experience spanning a diverse range of commercial and product liability matters, and has tried dozens of cases to verdict. Her broad range of business litigation experience includes matters involving breach of contract claims involving commercial real estate developments and tenancies, consumer credit services, hotel companies, law firm partnerships and retailer contracts; securities enforcement and shareholder actions; books and records inspection actions; enforcement of trademarks and other intellectual property; design defect, manufacturing defect, breach of warranty, fraud and consumer protection claims; trade secret restrictions and restrictive covenants in employment agreements; and actions arising under limited liability company agreements.

Become a Member

As a member of GBCA, you will not only gain access to wonderful benefits, but you will also become an active participant in a broader cultural community. Your organization and employees will directly benefit from opportunities to collaborate, connect, learn, network and share with your colleagues in the cultural community. Join our growing constituency of over 300 individual artists and organizations representing the region's extraordinary range of arts, culture, history, heritage, humanities, and attractions.

Join Today